Openings at UKF!

United for Kids Foundation is a not-for-profit organization incorporated in the USA, Nigeria and the United Kingdom established exclusively for charitable and educational activities targeted principally at needy children in Nigeria. They have reached more than 40,000 children with programs like the annual ‘Back to School’ project and free libraries in 9 public schools within Lagos since 2002

They need volunteers to commit 30 hours each week working with children from low income families in Lagos public primary schools. Volunteers will be assigned to their libraries at Ojodu, Somolu or Victoria Island. Library hours will be from 8am to 2pm on Mondays to Thursday while Fridays will be for debriefing and professional development.

 

The volunteers will work with their staff to implement literacy programs in the libraries. They will read to and with the children during library periods. They will watch educational programs with the children and explain content to them. The volunteers will also lead various projects such as tie and dye, planting, coloring and painting. They will accompany pupils to field trips, which include movie theaters, banks, museums, manufacturing companies and other major establishments during the annual summer camp. Volunteers will act as first line mentors to children, many of whom are from socially and economically disadvantaged homes. Volunteers at our Victoria Island library will work with mentors from major corporations once a week to implement a special reading program using eReaders (kindles).

 

REQUIRED ABILITIES

Volunteers should be university or polytechnic graduates with excellent oral and written communication skills. We are looking for people with good attitude who are willing to invest their time in helping economically disadvantaged children.

 

HOW TO APPLY TO VOLUNTEER

Step 1: Register at http://volunteers.volunteerinnigeria.org (skip this step if you have registered in the past)

Step 2: Drop us a comment below this post with your name and phone number.

(Comments with personal information will not be published. Please do not leave a comment if you have not registered and be sure to leave a comment after you register)

 

From the Admin/Communications Team
For: Volunteer in Nigeria

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NaijaVolunteers
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/VolunteerInNigeria
Add us as friend: http://www.facebook.com/naijavolunteers

50 thoughts on “Openings at UKF!

  1. Goood evening. I would like to volunteer in the ukf project giving my time to ensure that lives are touched in a positive way

  2. I’ll love to volunteer. Please note that i work. Kindly schedule it to suite me considering that i work. But my weekends are always free!

    • Thanks Admin, have re registered again hope you can find it in your data base now. Thanks

      On Wednesday, March 18, 2015, Volunteer in Nigeria wrote: > Ify commented: “I would love to volunteer” >

  3. I am very interested in being a part of the process of investing into the lives and futures of our young ones. I am a lawyer/ entrepreneur living within the Abuja metropolis. Please contact me on how I can participate in any of your laudable initiatives within Abuja.

  4. I love to work with children and more so when it involves helping them to learn a skill. I already have experience in teaching and working with kids. Hence, I am willing to get involved as a volunteer. Thanks.

  5. Hello admin, I sent my details but never got a call and you say it has been concluded.the last time I sent my details I got a call to volunteer but when I called back for directions I got no reply.have I missed this one too?

    • i will like to volunteer if still available, because the group are the future leaders of our nation.

  6. Hi, I have had previously worked with kids here in the UK as a volunteer coordinator in a project designed to increase the sports education among kids from deprived backgrounds. I have a keen interest in Nigeria and speak beginners yoruba and hausa so would be interested to volunteer in any projects with kids. Please do let me know.

Leave a Reply

